top of page

nathan meltzer, violin

"There are rare, perfect moments in chamber music where minds meld and hearts coalesce in beautiful synergy. Violinist Nathan Meltzer [...] attended to every contour of the music with care, crafting a long-form melodic idea that flowed effortlessly from phrase to phrase and movement to movement. It was a privilege to witness."



Winner of the 2023 Concert Artist Guild Competition, major prize winner at the 2022 Sibelius and Singapore International Violin Competitions, youngest ever to win the Windsor Festival Competition, and recipient of the Salon de Virtuosi Career Grant, violinist Nathan Meltzer is establishing a holistic and multi-faceted career as a soloist and chamber musician, with passions for both standard and contemporary repertoire. 


Nathan has performed as a soloist with numerous major orchestras, including the Philharmonia Orchestra, the Orchestre national d'Île-de-France, the Royal Northern Sinfonia, the Finnish RSO, the Helsinki Philharmonic, and the Aalborg, Charlotte, Concepción, Evansville, Indianapolis, Medellín Montréal, and Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestras, among others, performing across Europe, Asia, and the Americas. 


As a chamber musician, Nathan has performed at series’ including Parlance Chamber Concerts, Jupiter Symphony Chamber Players, Kallos Chamber Music Series, the Terezin Music Foundation, Project Music Heals Us, the Heidelberger Frühling, and Midori’s Partners in Performance, as well as at festivals including ChamberFest Cleveland, Krzyżowa Music, the Moritzburg Festival, the Ravinia Festival, the Perlman Music Program, and the Verbier Festival Academy. He is also the founding violinist of the Emil Trio, and the Artistic Director of Opus Illuminate, a non-profit chamber music organization dedicated to the works of composers from historically underrepresented communities.

A Juilliard graduate and student of Li Lin and Itzhak Perlman, Nathan plays a Storioni violin on generous loan from the Rin Collection.

Alban Berg: Violin Concerto


I. Andante – Allegretto

III. Allegro – Adagio

Performed by Nathan Meltzer with the Orchestre Symphonique de Montréal, conducted by Rafael Payare.

bottom of page